Skip to content

Seven Things

August 31, 2013

Screen shot 2013-08-31 at 11.17.07 AM

Happy almost of the summer!

I know, I know I come back as the summer is winding down, but I hope it shows that I’ve had a pretty decent summer!

So, last week as it was extremely scorching hot and the only thing I wanted to do was stay inside, I decided to catch up on a few blogs. Is it just me or has your blog reading decreased with the departure of Google Reader? I’m currently using “The Old Reader” as a RSS feeder, but if I can just be honest, it isn’t the same. I barely check into it since I have to sign into a new webpage, and as a result my blog readership has decreased. While catching up on Kisha’s blog, I decided to participate in her newest tag: Seven Things. Basically, she listed 10 questions, and you pick seven of them, answer them, and tag 5 more people. I thought this would be fun and give me a reason to chat it up since I’ve been MIA in this space. Here it goes!

1. You’re given a ’round the world ticket that stops in five major cities – which cities does you visit?

I love this question. Hmm, I’m actually at work staring at a large map that is hanging over my desk and now that I’m starring at all the possibilities, I could probably choose many many many places to visit. For the sake of answering the question I’d choose (going east leaving from USA):  Malta, Italy; Bali, Indonesia;  Kampala, Uganda (because I miss it soooooo much!); Dakar, Senegal and Brasilia, Brazil.  A dab of European culture with a mix of Eastern living and the rest will fulfill my need of being rooted to the African Diaspora. Also places I’m semi-familiar with, but would wholeheartedly enjoy spending more time becoming invested in just being a local.

2. What’s the weirdest thing you’ve ever eaten?

Weird is relative. Fish head. Coming from a Nigerian family means we eat most parts of the fish, and well I actually like fish head. I typically only eat the head of King Fish, Perch or Red Snapper, because they are all extremely fleshy and there is quite a bit of meat behind the head of a fish. I do not, however eat the eyes. Just can’t do it.

3. Gain 20 IQ points or lose 20 pounds – which do you choose?

I already know I’m smart and I’m a woman. I’d go with losing 20 pounds (and keeping it off!).  Sue me.

4. You can hang out with three of your favourite bloggers (even if you’ve never met them) this weekend and do anything you want to…which three bloggers and what are you doing?

Brenna of ThisBatteredSuitcase

Cynthia of Simply CYN

Chai of Back to Curly 

I can tell these ladies are all awesome, and I’ve actually had the chance to hang out with Chai! We’d probably all go sailing, on the open sea, chat, while simply enjoying the beauty of the world. I’m thinking somewhere along the Indian ocean.

5. You can have the services of one of the following free for an entire year – a cook, a cleaner, a driver, or a trainer. Which do you choose and why?

A cleaner! Hands down. I actually like to clean, however I spend a decent amount of time cleaning and keeping my apartment tidy- It’s ridiculous actually. It is the nature of the beast. If I can have someone clean for me (and to my standard) it would make my life that much easier. I’m talking the usual sweeping, mopping, cleaning of counters, etc but also cleaning of baseboards, windows, vents. These are the things I try to do once a month that make a usual cleaning segment that much longer and tedious.  I’d have more time to cook and wouldn’t mind spending time working out, because I’ll know I have a clean house to come home to. I don’t have a need for a driver because I live in a public transportation friendly city.  Oh and biking and walking all the way!

6. Describe your ideal mate – in 20 words or less.

Extremely patient, Christian, honest, committed, passion for travel, speaks another language, strong, dark, handsome with facial hair, intellectually curious, dedicated to health.

7. Something you’re afraid of?

Being in the same place (physically, emotionally, spiritually, etc) next year.

That’s it! This was really fun to do. I tag!

Chai / Oneika / Rae / Andrea / Mabel / Jen

If I didn’t tag you, feel free to answer the questions on your  blog (or below in the comments section!). If you’re answering them on your blog, feel free to come back and let me know you did so. I’d love to know your responses to the questions.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 3, 2013 11:20 am

    Oh this is going to be fun!!

    Fish head? oh wow! LOL!

    • September 3, 2013 4:03 pm

      Lol Most people I know won’t even give it a try! It tastes no different than other parts of the fish body lol.

      Let me know if you do the tag!

Leave a Reply

