Skip to content

Alternative to Google Reader?

June 12, 2013

Perhaps you’ve heard by now that Google is shutting down their RSS reader July 1st. I think I am a bit late as I am now looking into alternatives to what I considered the ever present and necessary RSS feeder of Google Reader. When Google announced the demise of the RSS feeder, it was all I could do just scratch my head and wonder who exactly was apart of the declining readership to the tool. For me, Reader has been an ever present part in keeping me connected and organized to the many sites I enjoy pursuing on a daily basis.

If you’d still like to keep up with me and this blog (I really hope so!) and your favorite sites, it’s a good idea to switch to a new RSS service before Google Reader disappears in a matter of days.

Right now, I am testing out Feedly and TheOldReader using Google Chrome, and from what I am able to tell it seems like the two platforms are extremely similar to Google’s Reader. With TheOldReader I was able to import my Google Reader subscriptions right into it (although the syncing of subscriptions is a bit slow). My current screen looks like this with TheOldReader

oldreader

With Feedly, I am currently able to sign in with my Google credentials, and Feedly promises come July 1st, 2013 all subscriptions will be migrated into Feedly if you’ve previously signed into Feedly using your Google username and password. I’m waiting to see, so for now if like me, you are looking for a place to house your subscriptions, I highly recommend you look into TheOldReader.

What blogs do you regularly read? I’d love to hear! 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 12, 2013 1:51 pm

    Thanks for this suggestion. I’ve been procrastinating about finding an alternative for Google Reader. I’m going to check out TheOldReader.

    • June 26, 2013 4:21 pm

      Glad you found this helpful! Let me know what you decide!

  2. June 15, 2013 11:30 am

    I tried Feedly but the design and style grew old with me–plus, it moved rather slowly. Now The Old Reader, I absolutely love it. The only downfall at this point is that they don’t have an app.. yet! Nevertheless, I’m sticking with this one.

    • June 26, 2013 4:20 pm

      I also think I am going to stick with The Old Reader…it has been working great for me!

Leave a Reply

