Skip to content

Hello Beautiful

May 3, 2013

Image

It’s Spring and has been nearly a year since I’ve blogged in this space. Around this time last year, I made the switch to a new space, and happily enjoyed my time there. The domain expired around late last year, and now I’ve yet to renew it. Not sure why, but for now I feel ready to get back to this space. I like being able to share what I’m thinking, how I’m feeling, and just the everyday day to day. So much has happened in the last year. I have changed, the world has changed, and I am most certain that you too, have also changed. I’d love to hear how you are doing!

In the mean time, here are a few updates from me:

1. Sometime in the last year, I’ve turned into a flower woman. I have two plants at home, and love surprising myself with a fresh bouquet of sweet smelling plants whenever I can.

2. The ‘fro is still here, and she is still going strong. I love her more now, than when we first met 4 years ago…and the decision to be naturally me has impacted my life more than I ever thought it would. 

3. I really just got into skin care, like proper skin care, toning, serums, exfoliation, peels, etc.  It’s been challenging to find what I like that fits my budget, but I’m slowly turning into my grandmother and am diving 100% to maintain the softness and suppleness of my skin. 

4. Wanderlust has yet to cease, if anything, since returning from Uganda my wanderlust has increased circa 1000%. Seriously. I day and night dream about all the places, all the people, and all the things I’ve yet to come encounter with. I know the time to set off again is coming, just being patient and preparing myself for the inevitable. Traveling is just who I am. 

5. In addition to being a flower woman, my inner farmer has been awoken and I’m so looking forward to getting involved with a community garden here in the city of Wind. I started a little apartment garden with lettuce, spinach, hot peppers, onions, and various herbs….can’t wait to see what I harvest in the upcoming months.  

 

So tell me, if you’re still here….how are you?

❤ Chinye

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 19, 2013 3:50 pm

    I’ve recently turned into a flower woman as well.. I think it’s mainly because they remind me of my mom–she had flowers everywhere and I understand why.

    And I don’t think my wanderlust will ever cease.

    • June 7, 2013 11:29 am

      I completely understand….flowers will always remind me of my grandmother. No matter how she was feeling, flowers would always make her day, and I find myself being a bit happier when they are around.

      I totally get you….wanderlust never truly goes anywhere.

  2. Ama Kyei permalink
    June 7, 2013 11:11 am

    Chinye! You’re still alive?? Girl, you have no idea how big my smile was when I saw your comment! I’ve missed you!!!!!!!!! Okay, sorry for the gushing:) I hope you keep blogging hun, I’ve always looked forward to your posts and I’m glad that you’re back:)
    I’ve tried the flower thing, I love orchids but they’re so hard to maintain:(
    The wanderlust is real. It’s been a year since Ghana and I’m plotting my next move around the world….
    As for skin, I would love to hear what you’re getting into for skin care. I’m going hard on sunscreen this year and surprisingly, anti-wrinkle cream :/ lol

    Missed you!

    • June 7, 2013 11:20 am

      Yes love, I am alive! Idk….I think I’m ready to admit that I was a bit depressed when I came back, and didn’t want to be in the space where I shared all the wonderful experiences I had when abroad, which is why I let the domain and website expire. I’m going to blog over here for a minute, and maybe sometime in the summer I’ll be ready to renew ChinyeLoves (I really do adore the name though lol)

      I’m glad you still have wanderlust and are plotting your next international stint…how exciting! Please share as soon as you are able/willing to.

      I will definitely share what I am doing for my skin, but here is a sneak peak (Drinking boatloads of water, exfoliation damn near every morning, and like you….sunscreen DAILY!).

      Glad you’re doing well!!

  3. Ama Kyei permalink
    June 7, 2013 11:20 am

    Chinye, what’s on your book roster this summer? We should do joint book reviews! I would love to hear your suggestions:)

    • June 7, 2013 11:57 am

      Americanah, Ghana Must Go, Twelve Tribes of Hattie…and a few others I can’t remember. I’ll write up a blog post for next week. Let’s do joint reviews!

  4. Ama Kyei permalink
    June 7, 2013 12:16 pm

    Yessss, I would love that. I purchased Ghana Must Go a while ago but I’m having an incredibly hard time getting through the first couple of chapters. I’ll give it a shot again this summer since I’m currently worshiping Americanah. I’ve got Khaled Housseni’s latest masterpiece~ And the Mountains Echoed (read his other books if you can!), Cutting for Stone (Ethiopian author) and some others ones I can’t remember. Yes to the joint reviews, especially Americanah, I’ve got some girlfriends who will post their blog reviews as well. We should all read and comment– especially to welcome you back to the blogosphere.

Leave a Reply

