Skip to content

Twelve by 2012

November 10, 2011

 

It feels as though I just looked up, and now we’re already 8 short weeks away from the new year! Not a procrastinator by nature, I have somehow let a few ‘must dos’ for the year slip away. Lucky for me, I have been inspired by oh, Hello Friend to get my head back into the game, refocus, and set out twelve goals I’d like to accomplish before the new year. Goal setting is extremely important, but there are times I feel as though goals (at least for me) are lofty without being concrete. For example, for previous New Years Resolutions I’d simply say: loose weight. The idea is all well and good in theory, but in practice, how did that look? What were the steps I needed to take in order to accomplish that particular resolution? And since I didn’t have an exact plan- the steps I needed to take in order to be successful at keeping the resolution falling off was easy. Over the years, I have learned to be specific, simple, and direct with respect to setting aspirations for myself. Now, if my health is something I want to consistently work on, my target goal instead of  ‘losing weight’ is very plain: work out xyz days per week. With a specific goal over a small fixed period I am more confident in my ability to complete the goal. Overall, it simply seems less daunting.

I’m excited for 12 by 2012 and to have this list to refer to, because more than being goals, this list is of things that will make me happy. With moving, work, school, life, and everything else in between it is easy to feel like you always have to do something, without that thing bringing happiness into your life. It is also nice to see goals of other bloggers, and the mutual support system knowing we’re accountable to see this through into the new year.

1. Create composting tin for kitchen

2. Volunteer at least once in November and at least once in December

3. Deep condition my hair (my last true deep condition was in May….shame I know)

4. Make pumpkin cinnamon rolls. These rolls look especially delish and are vegan!

5. Attend hot yoga

6. make homemade holiday cards for family and friends

7. make a list of long lost family friends, and write them a letter for the holidays

8. Get a bed

9. Work on completing steps to fulfill my wanderlust

10. Take an evening bike ride

11. Purchase own domain name & self host blog.

12. Add $20 in to the savings account for each goal completed 🙂

Here’s to ushering in goodness! Do you have any goals you would like to complete before the new year? Share!

♥ Chinye

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 13, 2011 11:21 am

    This is a good idea!

    I know for a fact there are some things that I’d like to complete before the year is out. I also think that it’s a good idea to add a monetary award for every chore you complete. Talk about motivation.. 🙂

    Good luck with accomplishing your goals!

  2. November 25, 2011 12:49 pm

    yay! I’m taking part in the same challenge, your list sounds awesome and very doable!

    • November 27, 2011 9:11 pm

      how is your list going? i crossed off a few this weekend and it undoubtedly felt good 🙂

Leave a Reply

