Skip to content

Inspire Me: Sleek Studio Designing

November 3, 2011

I can’t quite get enough of finding design inspiration every where I turn. As I am in the process of decorating my quant little studio, I have found that I am instantly drawn to clean, simplistic interiors, with shades of white, gray, and brown with just a tad of color. I do love color, especially vibrant Nigerian textiles that really do give a clear essence of the rich country. Nevertheless when thinking of how I want to decorate my pad, I know I’ll apprecaiate a bold statement of color around me because the truth is, life isn’t all one color scheme. These spaces have filled my mind with ideas and have pinpointed , with their unique design and eye-catching accents, just how using a neutral palatte, works when combined with bright colors.

For instance I’m digging:

Wall Paper & Violet Wingchair [love!]

White Tulip Tables

plants, plants, and more plants!

upholstered neutral sofa’s with nailhead trimming

red console table

I think it’s important as individuals to draw inspiration from our surroundings and experiences, but I also believe it is refreshing to come across an image and say, hey…I really like that, or I can really see this working for xyz area in my life. Therein lies the power of sharing and of connection. In begining to furnish and decorate my apartment, I really do appreciate having something to reference. Now, furnishing an apartment is expensive, even with a job! I am taking the the second hand route (minus the bed part….well, who knows what I’ll decide). I just don’t see a need to pay an exorbant amount of money for furnishings, when with a little sand paper, elbow grease, and a new layer of paint many items can look as good as new! Except, the fact that I am dying for this sofa. If only I’d allow myself to pay for it.

Here in Chi-town, there are a myriad of resale shops, and craigslist is always popping with moving sales. I was actually lucky enough to be walking down my street a few weekends ago just as a elderly neighbor across the street was moving out. She had her niece and nephew helping her, and they were throwing out bea-u-ti-ful pieces of furniture! I asked if I could have one or two pieces they had already lugged into the alley, and she happily said yes! That my friends, is how I came up on this gorgeous desk (below) and a entry console table (unpictured). I dusted, disinfected, and made sure both items were as clean as could be, then I dragged them into my apartment. For not having paid a dime for them, I am very pleased and so happy to have the desk and a console/dresser in my place!

Getting and moving furniture is a bit of a challenge for this car-less lady in the city, but little by little I am making it happen! Do you have any tips for procuring furniture in a city without driving to get it? If you have bought second hand furniture, has it come from a resale shop or through an individual? Or are you wierded out by the thought of use furniture? Let me know!

♥ Chinye

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 3, 2011 8:53 pm

    really can’t stop admiring the sunlight streaming through your apartment…so beautiful! I love quaint apartments, and that desk seems as if it were meant for it. Thrifting in NY is really an artform so sticking to flea markets is my thing…haven’t scored anything in a while, but it can be so much fun uncovering a great treasure…bringing it home and finding space:)

    • November 3, 2011 9:21 pm

      after apartment dwelling for the last few years I have come up with a handful of “non-negotiables”. I must have certain features in my home. the number one aspect I look for is beautiful sunlight…studio living can at times feel like living in a batcave without adequate light, and I love how my new places gets tons of sunshine!

  2. November 14, 2011 12:50 pm

    Your apartment looks so cozy.

    I have not one against second hand furniture and thrift shopping. I’m trying to figure out why other people aren’t in to it. Before I go anywhere for furniture, I stop at consignment shops,thrift stores, perusing through the classifieds, and stalking craigslist.

    I’m into antiques and the like. Since I live in an older styled home, I like to stick to my home’s “theme” as much as possible.

    I can’t wait to see how everything comes out.

    • November 27, 2011 9:10 pm

      glad to know that i am not alone with my love for thrifting! thank you much…the place is coming together slowly but surely and i cant wait to share the finished look. also, i checked out our blog and i love your posts! adding it to my reader…

Leave a Reply

