Skip to content

Summer Hiatus, Falling Back Into My Groove

October 11, 2011

Hi friends……how are ya!?!?

I never really know how to begin these sort of posts, where I explain where I have been and what I have been doing. This update is way overdue, and I have had it on my mind to get back to blogging, but it took me longer than I expected. Sometimes, you just need to step awayyy from the computer. For the last few months I’ve almost disassociated myself completely from the internet….really I did! I stopped watching online vidoes (daily episodes and youtube subscriptions), I’ve fallen of my blogging game, and only checked into twitter when I’ve had something to say. On top of that, I haven’t had steady internet in nearly 3 months! At first, I thought I’d die without immediate internet access, but the truth is I adjusted rather quickly. Instead of spending hours online as soon as I woke up and during the evening, I’ve read, walked around, and hung out with friends. I started to run again, and dedicated myself to the practice of yoga. I have networked, joined a professional organization, and have enjoyed ever beaming ray of sunshine. My friends, I had an amazing summer 🙂

 

All that being said, now that it is Fall….here I am, and I’m ready to be back blogging! Over the last three months, I traveled quite a bit, and actually relocated back to the midwest. My trip to Nigeria has not happen, although I am the one who made the tough decision. Although I’m bummed, I have shelved the idea for right now rather than completely eliminating it. I didn’t want to force the trip, and I know that graduate school presents another perfect opportunity to live and do research abroad. I simply wanted to have the comfort of a structured program and the security of grant funds, which was very questionable the last time I wrote an update. As of now, I am living my wanderlust live vicariously through many of friends I know who are currently abroad. I am also taking notes on how I need to go about securing funding and host organizations. I hope to share that information with you all soon.

 

During the summer I also had a lot of time to think about this blog, and my desires for it. I love this little space I’ve created for my ideas, and the connections I have made through your comments, and exploring your blogs as well. I concluded that although I love the name for my blog, I wanted to do something a little different that truly encompasses who I am in its entirity. As of right now, I am not looking to start a new blog, I am however looking into changing the name, and transferring to new self-hosted server. So tell me, what do you think of: Chinyeloves. The focus of my blog going forward will be about all things which I love in life including: exercising, home living, finances, and life. I know it sounds like quite a bit, but life is about being multifaceted, and I want my blog to reflect that as well. If anyone has a reputable web hosting/designer resource, please feel free to email me.

 

With that, I’ll leave you with pictures of my new pad! In looking for an apartment, I decided to downgrade to a studio, because honestly I don’t need much space for stuff. I looked around for nearly two months, but as soon as I saw this place, I knew I had to have it! Now, I have a several folders on my Mac with design inspirations, and cannot wait to start sharing my various apartment re-dos!

Main Living Space:

Kitchen:

 

Bathroom:

 

Other than that, I want to know how you’re summers went! Are you looking forward to anything in particular this Fall? For me, hands down it is the resurgence of PUMPKIN SPICE LATTEES. Yumm!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 20, 2011 4:13 pm

    I think going to a self-hosted server is a great idea! I did it with my blog and I am happy with it!

  2. October 23, 2011 7:14 pm

    so glad to see you back! Reading your hiatus update was a bit surreal…mainly because I did the same thing. I retreated away from blogging & internety things for a while because real life issues would not rest until I confronted them. I discovered a newfound love of yoga, made a few networking connections…and just lived a bit. So glad you found a place that you love and can have fun decorating! Love the direction of the new blog as well, can’t wait to see the unveiling;)

    • October 23, 2011 11:02 pm

      I’m happy to be back! I love that summers are a time when we can step back from the go go aspect of everything and just be present. I’m happy that you’ve found yoga too…it really is just wonderful 🙂

  3. November 2, 2011 4:28 pm

    I know what you mean about redirecting your blog; it’s what kept me from starting one for so long…life is too multifaceted to reduce to one theme for a blog! Glad to see you’re back, tell us more about the summertime! Did you get to all your books?
    Love the new pad!

    • November 2, 2011 10:31 pm

      sometimes, you just gotta do it!…which is what I’ll be doing this weekend. i got to some of them, a few i couldn’t get past the first few pages…but i’ll give a full update soon!

Leave a Reply

