Skip to content

Morning Dew

May 17, 2011

When I need to take a rest day after back to back cardio, I like to wake up a bit early and take a hour walk through my neighborhood. Walking reminds me to center myself. Morning has always been my part of the day. I love the sounds of cars bustling down the street. I love to hear school children making their way to class, amazed at how loud and excited they can be at 7am in the morning. Most days, I can even smell the lingering scent of coffee along the streets, knowing each house I pass has too begun their morning ritual.

Bright windows filter the sun directly onto my bed. No time to lay in bed with excuses, the shining sun immediately awakes me.

I take the time to admire the plants, knowing they welcomed the morning mist.


There are quite a few things I appreciate about my neighborhood. I enjoy the differentiation of architecture. I enjoy the ‘worn’ look many homes, fences, garages maintain. This to me says people have lived here. My neighborhood tells a store, and I am fortunate to have witness it unfold.

The mere fact MY President resided four short blocks from my dwelling point is nothing I take for granted. Although his home is now barricaded and under 24 hour surveillance, I will never forget the feeling of the 2008 election season. I remember walking up and down his street, greeted by numerous American flags, talking to his neighbors and comparing stories of random police check points in our side of town. In the blink of an eye, national attention zoomed in and people flocked to see the place the President has once called home. Even in the times he and his family return to visit, the neighborhood transforms once again. Yet, we all know the drill. We have found ways to side step street barricades, have found alternative bus routes to take, and now feel as though this, is the norm. I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Even though I have a deep fear of alleys, fire escapes always comfort me.

I have grown to love this little neighborhood, and will dearly miss it when I’m gone. Even so, I’m grateful for the time I spent getting to know it. I hope to one day return, and find that nothing has change, because to me, it is perfect as is.

With the anxiety of my upcoming departure, I’m reminded to slow down and appreciate the beauty in the little things. This stump, stands strong while only slightly above ground. To me, I can and will do what it is I desire, it just takes work. No matter how tired I feel, I know that I have the ability inside of me to push harder. I want to thank everyone for the emails and comments, I really do appreciate your insight and well wishes. As of yet, I do not have a plane ticket, but I do have confirmation that I will be studying Economics and Igbo (my native language) at the University of Ibadan in Ibadan Nigeria. In addition to the academic portion of my stay I will also do volunteer work in a nearby village. I want to get my feet wet with development work and selecting an area to focus on has been challenging because I have many interests. Above all, I am really interested in the microeconomic side of agriculture and sustainability and would love to work with small harvesters (especially women) in villages and help them create and execute sustainable business models. I believe this work is two-fold because reducing poverty and achieving sustained development must be done in conjunction with a healthy planet. Environmental sustainability is just as much apart of global economic security and the social well-being of the earth’s inhabitants. It took me a while to get to the point where I’ve really focused on my interest, but I think I’ve found it. Although this is all just the beginning, I’m excited for the path ahead.

♥ Chinye

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mabel permalink
    May 17, 2011 4:09 pm

    Yippee! We thank God. I’m enjoying the mini moments too:)

    • May 17, 2011 5:28 pm

      The mini moments are what count the most to me at this time 🙂

Leave a Reply

