Skip to content

Hair Blues

May 7, 2011


I have hit the stage in my protective hair style journey where I am frustrated with, and  just sick of having my hair tucked away. I want my big hair back. I loved all the ways my hair style complimented my own personal style. Big hair simply makes certain outfits better. As trivial as it may be, there are times, I don’t feel as special lol. I miss my afro, I miss my hair having movement, and most of all I miss the different styling options I’ve had.

Over my part of the country, the temperature is steadily rising, and everywhere I go I am inundated with bea-u-ti-ful natural hair. I am definitely aware of the rising number of women who are wearing their hair in a natural state and I must admit seeing their various styles leaves me a little jealous. Sometimes I want to yell “Hey, I have natural hair too!….just under here”, alas it would be inappropriate.

As of now, I am going forward to keep the yarn braids in for at least three months. Even though a month and a half has passed they are still going strong.  Other than the ability to feel my hair, the other reason I am growing impatient is I’ve purged my hair product collection at a recent meet-up and have am now dying to try out the Shea Moisture line. I’ve heard nothing but good things from friends who use a few of the hair care products. At the last meet-up I gave away the remainder of my Kinky Curly Curling Custard.  I’ve realized gel & I don’t mix. I really did enjoy the Kinky Curly, but hated having to apply my products in stages, the first being a leave in, the second being shea butter, and finishing with Kinky Curly Curling Custard. The whole process undoubtedly increased the time in which I spent setting my fro for a cute ‘out’ style. In addition, I simply do not enjoy the gummy feeling of a gel. Going forward I decided to try to recreate a butter styler that would give me the sealing in moisture, weight, and setting capacity as the shea butter + kccc once did. I’ve played around with a few homemade recipes using shea + aloe vera gel, but what I most enjoyed about kccc was the finished look it gave. My hair was always shiny, and smooth to the touch. I am going to continue to play around with different shea butter puddings so to speak to see if I can come up with a mixture of mostly shea butter that gives me the weight in addition to shine, smoothness, and allows me to maintain the definition of a braidout that I have grown to love. If you have any suggestions, or other products I should try, please let me know! I currently have my eye on the Shea Moisture Curl Enhancing Smoothie too 🙂

♥ Chinye

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Mabel permalink
    May 11, 2011 7:32 am

    Get it! I bought the Shea Moisture Curl Smoothie when Walgreens was doing its bogo… so worth it. I usually pair it with my KCKT after day 2 or three… (use KCKT as a leave in… braid… after 2 days, take down and moisture with Curl Smoothie.. braid… soft hair next day:) I know how you feel about missing the hair and dodging the protective styling. I went to see Jumping the Broom and wanted to snatch my wig off and fluff out my braids and blend in! LOL. Good luck!

    • May 11, 2011 10:13 pm

      i’m going to stick with these yarn braids for a little while longer. once they’re out, I’ll get the curl smoothie. it’s reasonably priced and is a pretty large container. if I don’t like it, I know who to send it to lol

  2. May 22, 2011 9:20 am

    I know this is a bit late. But I love the Shea Moisture line. Especially the Deep Treatment and Moisture Retention Shampoo. Have you had any luck trying these products out?

Leave a Reply

