Skip to content

1 Month Green Smoothie Challenge

May 1, 2011

I posted earlier this month about my love for drinking smoothies with a green vegetable (most times spinach) to get in additional nutrients and one full serving of a vegetable in drink form. I also said May will be a month where I challenge you to drink one green smoothie a day!

Green vegetables, especially the dark kind, are key sources of nutrients such as Vitamin A and C. Research has shown green vegetables may reduce the risk “osteoporosis, heart disease, arthritis, and several types of cancer”.  Just 3 more servings of fruit per day was associated with lowering the risk of diabetes, and researchers have also shown an additional serving of green leafy vegetable further decreases the risk of diabetes. Additionally, green veggies are loaded with other vitamins, minerals, fiber, and antioxidants, all necessary for the body.

May has come, and although I am ready to begin the challenge I ‘m embarrassed to admit I’m under prepared. Currently, I have absolutely no green leaf vegetable in my refrigerator!! I have also realized it might be more challenging than I previously expected. Living with roomates who each have various schedules has thrown off my own morning schedule. I’m considerate, and maybe that is the actual reason, but I just think it’s rude to have the blender going at 7am in the morning when I completely know other roomates (whose rooms are right near the kitchen) are sleeping. I may simply keep my blender in my room, and make my smoothies this way. A girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do.

With that, while I am out enjoying the beautiful sunshine today, I will make sure to pick up a bag of spinach which should last me throughout the week, and maybe some pineapple and/or berries to sweeten up the smoothies. Typically, I use soymilk as a liquid base for my smoothies, but I might also try some sort of juice be it orange or apple. Recently I had a green smoothie while at the airport and it contained Berries, Spinach, a banana, and a little pineapple juice. I was surprised by how much it tasted like summer, versus a ‘smoothie’, and admittedly I enjoyed it better with juice instead of milk.

In this green smoothie challenge, I hope to encourage you all to make eating fruits and vegetables a daily priority. I want to show you just how easy it is to do! Each smoothie can contain 3  types of fruits and one green vegetable, which will really kickstart your day. I am ready to begin the green smoothie challenge and I encourage you to get in! There are no rules, other than adding a green leafy vegetable to your smoothies! Some vegetables to try are:

Spinach

Romaine

Red Leaf Lettuce

Kale (not for the faint of heart, you will taste the bitterness of the kale. If you’re going to use kale, try adding a sweet fruit such as pineapple or peanut butter to conceal the taste)

If you are going to participate, please leave a comment below so I can make sure to follow up with you throughout the month to see how things are going. I’d love to hear your thoughts!

Happy Sunday All!

♥ Chinye

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mabel permalink
    May 1, 2011 8:19 pm

    I’m on it! I’m buying a Ninja asap (can you believe I don’t own a blender:(

Leave a Reply

