Skip to content

Standard Breakfast Smoothie

March 31, 2011

One of the things I enjoy most about breakfast is having an array of options to choose from. Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day, primarily because it is the first meal of the day and more times than not I eat exactly what I am craving. It is something about waking up with an empty stomach which allows me to focus on exactly what it is I desire.

 

As temperatures have steadily increased (come on spring, I’m rooting for ya to stay!) I’ve found that I crave smoothies. No surprise here. Smoothies are extremely quick to make, easy to transport, and can pack nutritional powerhouses if made with wholesome ingredients. This morning’s smoothie was full of protein, vitamins and, most importantly, chocolate flava!

 

Yes, it has spinach in it, but I PROMISE that you cannot taste it. The smoothie was very sweet yet chocolatey from the fruit and powder. You may also notice I used frozen berries. I do so when berries are out of season because they are cheaper frozen. Each bag cost me less than $2!

 

 

In the blender, combine to make a smoothie for ONE:

1.5 cup milk

1/2 cup frozen strawberries

1/2 cup frozen blueberries

1/2 banana

1 generous handful of spinach

1tbs wheat germ

1 scoop chocolate protein powder *optional*

*if you’re not using a protein powder, feel free to add 1 tbs cocoa powder!*

Blend away!

Pour into reusable bottle

Enjoy at home, on your way to work, school, while at work.  This smoothie will jump start your day with much needed nutrients from the veggie and fruits. Just don’t pout when it’s all gone (like I have done plenty of times lol).

 

Are there any smoothie recipes you are a die hard fan of? My personal favorite is peanut butter banana. Yum!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. mangomadness permalink
    March 31, 2011 11:29 am

    Looks yummy!

  2. April 6, 2011 1:16 am

    Hey Chinye! You are convert too? Great!!!

    Unfortunately, there isn’t much in the way of veggies in Nigeria. I usually use either Ugu or “Green’ a.k.a spinach.

    I love green smoothies and wish that I can have them every morning like you do. Unfortunately, I travel too frequently for that wish to come to pass.

    Last thing, I was of the impression that one had to drink up a green smoothie, pretty quickly as the nutritive benefits deplete with the passage of time. It will be really good to have it to go. I could usually do with an energy boost in the afternoon while at work.

Leave a Reply

