Skip to content

I Miss My Homeland Pt. 2

February 25, 2011

[2.24.2011 outfit]

There is a longing inside of me which I cannot explain. I feel so drawn to this place I haven’t been to in over 17 years yet the memories of my time there are so vivid. The smells of the land, the plantains cooking, the roads. the hair braiding shops. I can remember it all. A part of me feels sad and disappointed in myself that I haven’t made the journey home to my country, but financially, it is a very large commitment to make. As anyone who has ever traveled to an African country, you are aware of just how expensive flight tickets can be. A round trip ticket from the States to Nigeria will cost close to $1,800. With paying those sorts of prices, I need to be sure I can actually stay for longer than a week or two which hasn’t been possible with schooling and such. Until I can make my mecca home, I am inspired to let naijaland live through me. That means wearing of more of my ankra clothing, wearing my headwraps, taking the time and effort to cook my own naija food, and committing to connect with the local Nigerian community. And of course, more blogging on my country.

 

Have you ever felt connected to a particular place? How do you cope with living apart from it?

 



♥ Chinye

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 26, 2011 8:25 am

    I’ve never been to Nigeria (I know, I know) but when I’m at uni, I miss the Nigeria I know through my mother – I just finished eating some jellof rice and dodo – it’s my staple! When I miss my family or I’m feeling extra stressed, I just make some of that up and I instantly feel a lot better!

    • March 5, 2011 5:23 pm

      i know what you mean about how food can make you feel so much better. i’ve been craving moi moi and finally picked up black eye peas to make a few. i cant wait until they are done!

  2. Mabel permalink
    March 5, 2011 6:20 am

    I can totally relate with you Chinye. I had that deep urge and longing while I was in undergrad and upon receiving my first paycheck after graduation, I bought a roundtrip ticket to my homeland, Ghana. Nobody understood why but I did. That urge creeps back from time to time though I just went last summer! I’m thinking of satiating that desire again by just leaving for Ghana again but this time for a clearer purpose. As you await your chances to go back start brainstorming how you can contribute when you get there, not just how you can relax and soak in the culture:) I think at times our crave for our culture stems on the fact that we do not only miss the food but in someway, we want to be one with our people. What better way to do that than through service. Can’t wait for the Naij updates!

    • March 5, 2011 5:31 pm

      you are so right! i miss naija so much but it think it boils down to missing being surrounded by my people. we have small communities here in the states, but they are nothing the same. that is amazing that you’ve visited ghana recently. i’ve been once and from what i remember it was absolutely beautiful. i do have a few ideas of the things I want to accomplish while in nigeria, mainly connecting with shea butter harvesters in the village and mentoring some school age children. other than that i plan to eat eat eat!

Leave a Reply

