Skip to content

For the Lover of Books

February 23, 2011

[source]

As a lover of books I was perplexed, disappointed and saddened to hear Borders Bookstore is closing this spring in the aftermath of the company’s Chapter 11 filing last week. I am someone who frequented my local Boarders on lazy Sunday afternoons after morning Church service with friends. After brunching at our favorite cafeteria style dinner, filled from buttermilk pancakes and scrambled eggs, we would venture across the city street and spend hours perusing the latest novels, best sellers, and cookbooks. I distinctively remember stalking the store manager demanding to know when they would receive the shipment containing Terry McMillan’s newest novel. Walking throughout that store, waiting for a response, I’d pick a few reads I couldn’t wait to open and engulf myself into. For me, the closing of Boarders is bigger and more significant than the effects of this tumultuous economic downturn. It speaks to the seemingly underemphasis on the written word. Everywhere I turn, I am inundated by the prospects of electronic reading gadgets, online literary features, and the digitization of research material. I like to consider myself a woman of the ‘modern’ times, but I can’t help but feel abandoned. What has happened to the literary world as I have known it? I have fond memories of ‘library’ period where my elementary school home room class would spend 40 minutes in our school library (which couldn’t have been bigger than a local starbucks) trying to out race each other so we each would walk away with a new read for the week. I remember spending after school time and Saturdays at my local public library with my siblings, attempting to find books in the youth section we hadn’t read, only to request books via inter-library loan. That was how I spent the majority of my childhood. Needless to say, although that part of my adolescence is long and gone, I will continue to support what is important to me. Locally, there are three small bookstore co-ops which have always been threatened  by the newly opened big corporate bookstore, yet are the ones that now remain standing. The new store attempted to slowly creep away at the indie’s business, luring customers away with discount pricing, cozy chairs and fresh brewed coffee to no avail.

Yesterday, inspired by the Frugalista’s No-Buy Month challenge a group of my twitter friends and I collectively acknowledged the need for a group sharing book program where we would offer up books to each other. Almost like our own mini book club slash library of favorite reads. Immediately I loved the idea for I am always on the hunt for new reading material. The Frugal Book Lender Club is spearheaded by my girl Chai via goodreads.com. If you have a few books lying around or are similar to me and have boxes of books packed away in a closet (sorry, but I can never part with my books) feel free to join the group and post what you have to share!

 

[Frugal Book Lender Club]

 

My first contribution is The Color of Water by James McBride and my second contribution is Upstate, a novel Kalisha Buckhanon. I look forward to seeing what other books people are reading too!

 

 

 

♥ Chinye

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

