Skip to content

Waking Up to Chewy Goodness

January 20, 2011

I love breakfast.

There, I said it.

I’m definitely one of those people who eats breakfast at anytime of the day, and more times than not scrambled eggs, a piece of toast, and some fruit constitute my nightly dinners. It’s cheap, nutritious, and can take only 5 minutes to throw together. When I get home and my stomach is rumbling, I need to whip up my meal quick and fast and most breakfast options serve this very purpose!

I also love the simplicity of breakfast, yet appreciate how a meal can be sweet, savory, or a combination of both. Although breakfast is a favorite, I try my best to make all food fun.  Around the healthy living blogsphere you’re sure to see many variations of oatmeal. I for one have loved oatmeal since jump, pre-obsession faze. I loathe those little instant packets of flavored oatmeal and usually opt for plain ‘quick’ oats or ‘regular’ oats. I have terrible memories of eating the apple spiced instant oatmeal as a child and wondering why it tasted funny :-/ yet I never got full. Now, I pump up my oatmeal to not only make it look pretty, but to keep me satisfied between getting dressed, leaving, my house, commuting, and the first few hours on the job. My go-to mix:

1/2 Cup Oatmeal

1/2 Milk + 1/2 Water

1Tbs Chai Seeds

Peanut Butter

Top it off with some fruit and granola!

 

Enough to satisfy my stomach and keep me going!

 

Are you a breakfast lover? What are some of your favorite meals?

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 22, 2011 5:59 pm

    I’m not only a breakfast-lover, but old-fashioned oats sidles up to my coffee regularly. I’ll make two or three servings at a time, for nuking-ease later. A fave way to fix it is to add a couple of tablespoons of chopped dates while cooking, and top it off with a bit of spread, brown sugar and 1% milk.
    To me, those little pre-sweetened packets have enough sugar to make one choke, but they do okay to make on a one-to-one ratio with the plain-jane grains:)

Leave a Reply

