Skip to content

Showing My Self Some Love

January 19, 2011

[source]

I decided to spend the majority of my past Saturday getting my hair back on track to the way things used to be. After a week of having any water touch my hair and scalp, I knew I was in for some investment time. Recently, I discussed my scalp frustrations that have driven me up a wall. I had a few ideas of how to attack the persistent problem, and I am happy to report after implementing a few oldie but goodies, I have the situation under control. The entire ‘dandruff attack’ process took two weeks. Now I am unsure if I will ever be free from dandruff, but have learned if I do the following steps, the dandruff is almost nonexistent. Which is to say, when I don’t set aside the effort to show my hair some love, it starts to act up. I guess this is to be expected?

A few must dos!

1. Wash my hair 1x a week– Figuring out a perfect balance of time management will always be a work in progress, but I can’t cut corners on the things which are important. My hair being one of them. When I don’t invest time into my hair, I will not see it moisturized, nourished, and acting right.

2. Brown Sugar Scalp Scrub Invigorating, inexpensive and instantaneous. For this scalp scrub I mixed:

♥8 tsp Brown Sugar

♥3 tsp Honey

♥2 tsp Vitamin E. Oil

♥2 tsp Grapeseed Oil

♥1/2 tsp Tea Tree/Lavender Essential Oil

♥1/2 tsp Rosemary EO

♥2 Squirts of Conditioner

Take an old toothbrush (or your finger tips) and apply to the scalp, lightly scrubbing. After 3 minutes, I rinsed with warm water. My scalp felt clean, but after rinsing I went on to the following step.

3. Bentonite Clay Mask– Deep cleansing treatment for the hair (and face!).

I simply mixed equal parts of aztec bentonite clay with apple cider vinegar and water until I reached a consistency of thick yogurt. I underestimated the amount of clay I would need, therefore I ended up mixing another batch to achieve full coverage of my scalp and hair. Applying the mask directly to my scalp and hair strands was rather uneventful, since the mixture was thick rather than soupy. Then, I covered my head with a plastic cap for 35 minutes. Upon removing the plastic conditioning cap, I expected my hair to be hard, but my hair was not completely dried our or crunchy as expected, even though my scalp felt a little tight. I rinsed the clay out in the shower with warm water rather easily. I took the pads of my fingers to my scalp to make sure all of the clay was gone. Afterward, my hair felt very smooth and a bit more bouncy, but more importantly, my scalp felt like it could breathe.

 

The complete process included washing my scalp after the bentonite clay mask with a *new* shampoo then deep conditioning with what after 3 years of consistent use is now a staple: Aubrey Organics Honey Suckle Rose. Upon completion of the deep conditioning, I was tired. Tired but knew I had to press on. I twisted my hair for my weekly hair style of choice for its simplicity and complementary nature to my life. Which brought me to week two. A week following I didn’t know what to expect. I hoped for the best yet subconsciously feared the worst. Would my scalp act up again? I’m happy to report the scalp irritations occurred, but only arose the day before I set time to wash my hair; which I can honestly deal with. This told me that if I keep a consistent schedule, washing my hair once a week, the scalp itchiness will virtually be non-existent. Can I take a second to say Praise the Lord? I consistently pray for the health of my body, my mind, and my physical appearance and thankfully, God has given me the knowledge and the ability to know all that I have to do to keep it all under check. And for that, I am grateful.

 

I’m happy to have a good grip on this one small part of life, but will continue to check in on the status of my scalp with any news to share, frustrations, and/or challenges. If you have any experience with dandruff, please feel free to share!


Up next on the #naturalhair front……..a review!

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2011 9:59 pm

    omgeee…I’m excited for these reviews! I’m late to the hair dew train, but thinking of scooping up…LOVE your hair posts:)

    • January 20, 2011 8:35 am

      thanks! oyin has a special place in my heart. i love the company, the vision, and their spirit. i’m taking some time to try everything out multiple ways so i should have a review very soon!

Leave a Reply

