Skip to content

It’s Okay, I’m Giving Myself My All

January 14, 2011

Whew, has the year just started?! I feel like I have been running non-stop since the Holidays began. Over the past week I’ve impromptu packed up my entire life, sold most of my furniture, and donated countless bags of clothing to local charities, all in the name of saving a few hundred dollars each month. That’s right, a few hundred dollars by simply downsizing.

As one of my target goals in life is to live beneath my means rather than at eye level, I suddenly made the grown up decision to change living situations in order to fulfill this objective. But I don’t want to sugarcoat it; initially the mental change wasn’t easy. I thought of all I’d given up. The clothing- of course I would need every single blouse and skirt in my closet, although they haven’t been worn in over a year. Right? Wrong. I decided to give myself my all.

 

 

Downsizing everything I has been an experience of freedom. I realized I don’t need much to sustain myself and to make myself happy, and that realization brought much joy to my heart. I’m thankful for being single without a family which gives me the ability to pick up and go as I please. I’m thankful for all that I do have and am glad I am able to live modestly, although friends still ridicule me for not having a television lol. I personally don’t see the need for one, but that may be because I have a laptop and anything I could ever want to watch can be found online. To me, instead of cluttering my space with things, I’ve promised myself to fund social activities. This week alone I have taken a step class at my local Y, an African dance class (luv!) and have done yoga and Pilates. Who says you can’t have fun without a television?

With all of that, I sadly haven’t had the time to do my hair. It is now in a puff, which has been with me through the packing, moving, exercising, and running around. I’m looking forward to the long weekend where I’ll get to show it some love. I plan on doing a hot oil treatment and deep conditioning for a few hours. I recently purchased a new shampoo, with the hopes that it’ll keep my itchy scalp at bay. I’ll be back after MLK day to report on what I’ve done so far to elevate the itchiness!

 

How do you live beneath your means? Any plans for the long weekend?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2011 12:06 am

    Love this! I often try to live beneath my means as well though I’m not always successful at it. I went several months without cable when first moving into my (studio) apartment, but I admit, I quickly gave in when I got offered a good a rate. :/ I totally commend you for not having a TV though and you are right, everything on TV can be found online and there are plenty of more productive things to do besides sit in front of a TV. As you know, I ‘ve been contemplating getting a Y membership, and since I really don’t want to add another bill into my life, I’ve been considering canceling my cable in exchange for it. We’ll see if I can actually go through with it. My most recent post is another example of how I try to live beneath my means. Make sure to check it out b/c I gave you a “Stylish Blogger” Award in it! 🙂

    Btw, I finally tried BodyPump this past Saturday. IMO, it didn’t live up to the hype. Sadly, it was nothing more than lifting weights to music…they tried to do it in a cool, choreographed sort of way, but it didn’t really translate well. It’s a new class at our Y though, so maybe over time it will get better.

    • January 20, 2011 8:26 am

      I checked out your post on stylish living on the cheap, and I’m totally with you! I can honestly say that at least 50% of the clothing I have left has come via some form of second hand. Either from friends, family members or thrifting, it’s all good with me! About the Y, you know I am going to encourage you to try the Y membership and think of canceling your cable lol. The thing I like is that nothing is ever set in stone. If you realize cable and the Y are somethings you need, readjust elsewhere to accommodate both. The beauty is, you can try things out!

      I’ve been checking out some BodyPump videos via Youtube, and I totally get what you mean! It’s just a weights session to music (some trying to be funky and cool lol). I can see how some people who don’t usually weight train on their own would like the class, but my Y already has a weights class and I’m pretty comfortable lifting and doing core stuff on my own so I’m not gonna go out of my way to find a BodyPump class.

  2. January 19, 2011 10:08 pm

    this was my goal towards the end of last year…at this point it’s soooo necessary. in between the dreaded student loan payments & life’s other regular expenses, I needed to re-prioritize a few things. I’m turning 30 this year, and my ultimate goal is to do something extraordinary…maybe a trip to a far off country…an online friend of mine recently booked a trip to Bali..just on a whim..! This seriously gave me food for thought…and inspiration.

    gr8t post!

    • January 20, 2011 8:32 am

      i think these “transition” stages are optimal for practicing sound management skills. so you have your goals….out.of.the.country.!! do it and do it now! that would be awesome!

Leave a Reply

