Skip to content

Starting on the Right Foot

January 7, 2011

I did it!!!! I signed up for my first 2011 race as one of my primary fitness goals for 2011 is to continue racing. During 2010 I took the time to start running again, something I did competitively in High School and not going to lie, training was rough. I was often tired, my legs were sore, and I could barely muster the energy to get outdoors and hit the pavement. I was able to run a steady 10:15 minute mile by the time my 5k came around. Once it was over, I reduced my running during the last few months of 2010 but now I’m ready to get back into it! My pace has dropped (I’m at a 11 minute mile) but I’m happy with it. Running makes me happy and I’m going to work on getting faster, which will more than likely happen since I’m using the treadmill.

The Shamrock Shuffle isn’t until April, however I did want to do a race before hand. I’d love to combine my goals of racing and traveling together. As of now, I am tentatively going to do the D.C. National Half Marathon (i.e. I haven’t registered lol).  It is exactly 13 weeks away, which gives me a perfect timeline for training and will more than adequately prepare me for the 8k.  Most of my runs will be on the treadmill and I’m hoping towards the end when as my long run mileage increases I’ll be able to run outside.

I’ve developed a training plan loosely based on Hal Higdon’s Novice Half Marathon Training Plan and added my particular needs like still taking my step class and doing yoga. Also, I’ll be lifting weights to get stronger. I’m excited about training but do know that it will be emotional and tiring. I started this week and already have had to give myself pep talks to make it to the gym. Running isn’t easy, but I’m so up for the challenge!

Are you running any races this year? I’d love to know! If not, what are some of your fitness goals for 2011?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 9, 2011 3:59 pm

    Congrats on registering for the race and good luck! A few people have given me the advice that if you just go ahead and register,that commits you and makes you more likely to actually do it since you won’t want to waste the money, so I’m trying to take need of that advice and go ahead and register for my first race. I just have to finish filtering through the million races going on in the spring (I’m waiting til the spring cause I’m a baby when it comes to running in the cold) and decide which one I want to make my first!

    • January 11, 2011 11:15 pm

      That is so true! Signing up for a race pushes me to stick to training before hand because my money is already gone. I say go for it! I love the energy of races and look forward to finding ones that work for my schedule.

Trackbacks

  1. Build Strength, Flexibility, and Recover with Yoga « Getting It Right~ Living Life

Leave a Reply

