Skip to content

Fall Favorite: DIY Pumpkin Spice Latte

October 27, 2010

 

For the past couple of weeks, I’ve woken to crisp, brisk mornings. Nothing awakens my senses of Fall like the freshness of leaves falling, the coolness of the air against my skin, and the lingering smells of cinnamon and spice. It seems as soon as the temperature drops twenty or so degrees, I instantly transform to Fall. Each year, I revel in this transition. I love to watch the leaves change in color, transitioning from rich greens to deep lovely golden hues. I love taking my morning jog and hearing the crunching of dry leaves under my feet. And just like that, almost instantly, I can feel myself engulfed by the season. Although the air is a little colder, there is something undeniably warm and cozy about these fall months.

 

Each September, I anxiously await the arrival of pumpkin. Pumpkin alone lacks a certain depth in flavor and strength, but when paired with rich spices such as cinnamon, clove, vanilla, and nutmeg, it just explodes. This Fall, I waited Starbucks now famous ‘Pumpkin Spice Latte’. Like all things Starbucks, this specialty limited drink does not come cheap. Starting at $4.45 for the grande size, adding soy milk will increase the price by $0.50, topping this drink to over $5. I’ve recently consciously splurged more than I’d like to admit however, like any coffee shop drink these days, the cost of a daily (or even weekly) Pumpkin Spice Latte can add up quickly. I’ve adapted a common pumpkin spice latte to fit my wallet and my health needs. I find that Starbucks’ version is a tad to sweet, even when I ask for less pumps of pumpkin sugar. If you’re looking to satisfy a pumpkin craving without your wallet suffering, be sure to try this!

 

DIY Pumpkin Spice Latte

*makes one serving

 

Ingredients:

1 Cup Milk (I use Almond Milk)

2 Tablespoons canned pumpkin

1/2 cup strongly brewed coffee or 1-2 shots espresso

1/2 Teaspoon Cinnamon

1/2 Teaspoon Sugar

Pinch of ginger, nutmeg, and allspice

 

 

In a saucepan combine milk, canned pumpkin, spices and sugar and heat until milk is boiling. Remove saucepan from heat and whisk vigorously (I use a hand emulsifier) until all ingredients are combined. Pour into a mug and add coffee or espresso. Top with a bit more cinnamon and enjoy! This is best served on a cool Saturday morning with a favorite book in hand.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 27, 2010 11:33 am

    oh my…this looks and sounds delicious…I’ll be trying it soon!

Leave a Reply

