Skip to content

I Left My Heart In New Orleans

September 22, 2010

Early this year, I took a weekend trip to New Orleans and somehow left my heart there.  I don’t know what exactly it is, but there is just so much I love about the city of New Orleans. The people, the spirit, the heart, the warmth, and lets not even GET to the food. It’s been nearly seven months and it’s all still fresh on my mind. I can smell the smokiness of flavor, feel the percussions in my soul, hear the liveliness of the city. Now I won’t pretend like you also couldn’t taste death in the air. It was evident a part of New Orleans had passed away with Hurricane Katrina, and even though it’s been over 5 years, the city is still healing. A part of me wonders the extent to which the city would be had Katrina been less destructive. Now, New Orleans is highly dependent upon tourism as a means to generate income for the city. Their economic livelihood is intrinsically correlated to those who visit, so it is my request that those of you who’ve never been, please go and patronize the city. Outside from this solemn fact, I’ve never felt so attached to a vibrant city other than New York, and I can not wait to make another trip back to NOLA.

Here are some photographs I snapped on the trip. I’m still in process of developing the photographs I took on my Point and Shoot Canon Film camera. New Orleans is the most European city in the states so I used the opportunity to take my film camera , my best friend, while exploring the French Quarter. Sometimes I find that in the age of digitization many people aren’t interested in using film, let alone shooting in black in white. The later requires a level of attention and detail that I love and I can’t wait to share the photographs which further capture the true essence of the city.

Took a stroll down Frenchman street and ran into these fellas playing the mess out of their instruments

Best Po-Boys in the French Quarter

My natural hair LOVED the South’s weather

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 1, 2010 1:17 pm

    Love NO…!! Found myself there for the Essence festival and instantly fell in love with the ppl….food, culture…everything! The hospitality and kindness of the folks there really threw me off my game, but it was still VERY much welcomed. Really want to return sometime next year…did you find your way to Cafe Du Monde?

    • October 12, 2010 3:48 pm

      Ahh no! Well we went, but the line was just too long. It literally wrapped around blocks and I wasn’t in the mood to wait. We ended up going to another cafe on bourbon st. which was really good! I went back everyday for beignets before i left.

      I also wanted to go to the essence festival this year as well, but the flights, hotels, concert tickets were just too much to spend on all at once. It’ll have to be something I save up for next year but it’s something I want to do.

  2. December 16, 2010 8:14 pm

    Honey I love me some Nola!! OMG I want to live there!!

    • December 18, 2010 10:52 am

      NOLA has done something to me, I just can’t stop thinking of it! I’ve been planning my return back the day I got on the plane leaving from NOLA. I soooo just want to be emerged in the magic of the city. Definitely a special gem!

Leave a Reply

