Skip to content

A Few of My Favorite Things

September 21, 2010

1. Mint.com If you struggle with financial organization and are a visual learner, I highly encourage you to try mint.com for a comprehensive visual analysis of your finances.  I personally use this website to help me track my spending and to keep me in target with all of my financial goals.  Mint allocates categories for all of your debits and charges, showing a spending pie chart, and making suggestions about where you can save more and how to do it.

2. Molly’s Cupcakes. Best.DAMN.Cupcakes.In.Chicago. My favorite is the peanut butter nutella. Yum!

3. Dawn Okoro’s Artwork. Dawn Okoro simply creates beautiful canvas painted portraits of aspects of life that speak to the contemporary woman. She incorporates photography into the conception of her paintings and it seems to add a level of complexity to her work. I’ve been a fan for nearly two years now, and am looking forward to the day where I add her artwork to my personal collection. Check her out here.

4. Gap 1969 jeans. I consider myself a girl on a budget, but one thing I will not compromise on is a pair of quality jeans. There is something to be said for jeans you don’t need to use a belt for or have to consistently pull up. As a lady with curves I know all too well how hard it is to find jeans to fit my proportions. I received my first pairs of ‘Born to Fit’ Gap 1969 jeans last year from Andrea over at FLY when she ran a contest as a Gap Brand Enthusiast for those who wanted to try a pair out. Since she’s such a doll, she sent me a $50 gift card to go towards my purchase and she sent me an extra pair of real straight 1969 jeans which just happened to be long. I love the real straight and skinny jeans. Now, 3 out of the 5 jeans I own are from the Gap and I wouldn’t have it any other way!

5. Shea Butter. Multipurpose body moisturizer. The only thing I will use on my skin and on my hair.

6. When it comes to conditioners, I pledge allegiance to none to help me with my natural hair. In fact, I am less than picky in regards to what I chose to use.  I believe more is more, and end up using A LOT at one time, pretty much using 1/4- 1/2 of a bottle. I wash my hair every weekend, so that can definitely add up, which is why I stick to something cheap. Try Tresemme’s Natural line for soft, shiny, and easy to detangle hair.


2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 12, 2010 2:55 pm

    awesome list! I’ll have to check out Mint.com, sounds like something that I sorely need lol. Another cheap great conditioner are the V05 moisture milks line! the passionfruit smoothie is my holy grail conditioner and only 69 cent or so. can’t beat that for cheap! and it detangles and makes my curls pop like a dream!

    some other natural hair artwork that is gorgeous is by: http://briannamccarthy.blogspot.com/

  2. October 12, 2010 3:36 pm

    yeah let me know how Mint.com works for you. I know ultimately you’ll have to make the personal decision to spend or not spend, but mint.com is nice in the way that you can see what you’ve been doing.

    i’ll have to check out that artwork too!

Leave a Reply

