Skip to content

Healthy Living

August 6, 2010

Over the past two years I really have been more intentionally about taking care of my body and doing the things that will allow my body to function in its fullest capacity. This started when I had the realization that a lot of what I normally ate (as a typical athletic high school student) left me feeling sluggish and always tried. Add that with my anemia, and there many days I would feel like a walking corpse.

While in college, it seems like all of a sudden I made a choice to do better and be better. I completely cut out all of the late night snacking- steak sandwiches, personal pizza pans, ice cream sundaes (yes I would do ALL of that) and increased my daily veggie intake. Instantly, I felt better! I was tired, but my fatigue mostly came from sleepless nights. I than began to work out to lose some of the freshman 30 I put on, and before long I became happier with my personal health.

Taking care of my body is personal to me for two reasons. First, I wholeheartedly believe since we have one body and one life, we should take the best care of it while we have it. Secondly, my parents both had cancer. Coming from a family that has had extreme medical conditions, I know how important it is to do well by my body. Long before we had all sorts of medications to lower blood pressure, help with diabetes, people were eating to naturally reverse negative elements that were plaguing their bodies. While I believe food can be healing, I also know that when abused, food can also be a detriment to your health. It pains me to hear people say a disease like Diabetes is hereditary. While being predisposed to it increases your risk of acquiring the disease, the cause is not in one’s family, the cause is in one’s pantry! So now I eat as a preventative measure and also as medication when I’m not feeling well.

There are many many food documentaries out there detailing the extreme and almost frightening culture we live in. I haven’t watched any of them because I’m afraid. I’m afraid of what I’ll find out, so until I build enough courage to watch Food Inc or something similar, I’ll just leave it up to my imagination lol. Have you watched any food documentaries??? What are some of your healthy living practices?

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 6, 2010 10:09 pm

    Good for you, taking charge of your eating and your health! I love your quote about the risk of disease not being in our family, but in our pantry! As my weight edged upward, I developed pre-diabetes. My numbers were right on the borderline (and nobody in my family has had the disease that I know of). I also had other health issues, so decided, after having a second hip replacement surgery and could become more active, that I was gonna get that weight off! I’m now down to within 5 pounds of my goal, and no longer am pre-diabetic, and have gotten off quite a bit of my meds.

    Best wishes for your continued success!

Leave a Reply

