Skip to content

Chocolate Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

July 19, 2010


This weekend I felt the urge to bake cookies, but put it off for a day because it was just too hot to use the oven. Sunday afternoon we were cooled by a little mid day summer rain so I hopped at the chance to spend some time in the kitchen. I snagged this recipe from another blogger, and what I like the most about it was the simplicity of ingredients and instructions. I had most of the ingredients on hand and the few things I didn’t have I was able to pick up at Walgreen’s. In the end I did have to make few adjustments. I used one cup regular oats and one and a half cup instant oats because I ran out. I used half a cup of regular granulated sugar and a half cup of agave nectar because I also ran out of regular sugar. I used a 3oz milk chocolate bar because I couldn’t find a 4oz bar. I have a major sweet tooth and if you left me alone I could probably eat 10 cookies in one sitting, but I like to think of having cookies, ice cream, chocolate as treats because my waist line won’t forgive me if I attempt the proverbial. Without further ado, here is the recipe!


Chocolate Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies
Adapted from The Sweet’s Life

Ingredients:
-2 1/2 cups regular rolled oats
-2 cups flour
-1 tsp baking powder
-1 tsp baking soda
-1/2 tsp salt
-1 cup butter
-1 cup granulated sugar
-1 cup packed brown sugar
-2 eggs
-1 tsp vanilla extract
-1 (12 oz) package semi-sweet chocolate chips
-1 1/2 cups chopped pecans
-4 oz milk chocolate bar grated (I used a blender)

Directions:
1. Mix oats, flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a bowl and set aside.
2. In the bowl of a stand mixer (I used a hand mixer and a large bowl), beat butter for 30 seconds. Add sugars and beat until combined.
3. Beat in eggs and vanilla until combined.
4. Add flour mixer and beat until combined. Stir in chocolate chips, nuts, and grated chocolate.
5. Add in oat mixture and stir until combined.
6. Drop tablespoons of dough onto greased cookie sheets. Bake at 375F for 8-10 minutes, until edges are light brown. Cool on cookie sheets for 1 minute, then transfer to a wire rack to cool.

Yum! Don’t be afraid to top with a spoonful or two of vanilla ice cream.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

