Skip to content

There Is No Plan. Think Strenghts, Not Weaknesses. But In The End, It’s Not About You.

June 23, 2010

We’ve all been there. All had those days where it seems tough to do the things which are necessary to a balanced life. I’m a believer of balancing spiritual needs as well as physical needs, but sometimes it’s hard. How do you call that family member you’ve disappointed many times. How do you continue in opposition? I’ve learned that no matter how hard things get, or no matter how much I don’t want to do certain things, they just need to get done. I know that may be hard to comprehend, but at these times I look at the things I may have accomplished, not matter how small they are. Maybe I helped someone with homework. Or I was able to pray each day. Ultimately, there is no room to feel inferior because each day is a blessing. One that I thank God for giving me every morning.

I started this post with what I ate this morning – and pretty much every single day of the week- because it is my breakfast of champions of sorts. The base of my bowl is fresh seasonal fruit. I have an abundance of berries in my fridge begging to be eaten so blueberries and strawberries it was this morning. Next, I scoop out my greek yogurt (Chobani Vanilla is by far my fav. Not too sweet, but flavorful nonetheless) on top of the berries. Sidenote: Chobani is on sale at Whole Paycheck for $1! If you eat greek yogurt often, you know that is a steal! Finally, I’ll add a mix of ground flaxseed and wheat germ and homemade granola. I eat Wheat Germ because it contains nearly 1/5 or 20% of daily Folic Acid and Vitamin E necessary. Vitamin E is amazing and helps guard skin cells against UV radiation from the sun. Flaxseeds contain plant-derived omega 3 fatty acid which helps to lower cholesterol blood pressure. I make my own granola because it’s cheaper, healthier, and I can control all the additives. If anyone wants the recipe, let me know and I will post it.

Lastly on a more serious note, in thinking about my strengths and how they get me through, one thing you wont find me doing over in these parts is lamenting over every negative stereotype placed out there about black women. No, I don’t have opinion about why black women can’t find/date/marry/remain monogamous with successful black men. Truthfully, I don’t know and I’m not in that position. I won’t comment on the little baby on youtube cursing and gyrating. I understand that negative images of people like me only exist because these images are circulated. I wish more than anything that people understood the capital they have and the extent to which taking personal accountability of what they read and distribute means that one day, if no one watches the bogus news specials about degrading black women, or no one posts or comments on the black baby acting up, that it won’t be shown and/or mainstream anymore.

I am determined to live well and I will as long as I keep an end goal in mind. It’s not about me.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

