Skip to content

Road, here I come

May 19, 2010

I-pod or no I-pod I haven officially decided to run my first Marathon (well half marathon) in the Fall! I’m super excited because I luv to run. No seriously, it’s the truth. That doesn’t mean that running is easy for me because it’s actually quite hard. I ran cross-country for two years in HS and did track the other two years. Looking back, I probably liked track more because of the shorter distance and training seemed less strenuous and mental (when doing drills I know there was a finite set that I needed to complete, ex. 8×400 + 4×100 is a lot easier to mentally process than 3 miles. Iono know, maybe it’s just me).  But if I had to be honest, I was in the best physical shape of my life when I did cross-country. I’ll never forget the first time I ran 5 miles with my team…I felt like I was invincible. And I want that back. I’m not a fast runner. I’m not a pretty runner. I am just a girl who likes to run. I feel in shape, my endurance is off the wall, and my legs are toned [I’m a bit vain, sue me].

So to kick off my workouts I’ll be loosely following this training plan since this will be my first ever road race. Damn, that already sounds intense.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

