Skip to content

When To Buy Plane Tickets

October 8, 2013

images

 

Undoubtedly, one of the biggest travel expense is the ever necessary plane ticket. After years of flying domestically and internationally, I’ve found the closely kept bit of knowledge to be true. The New York times has its own recommendations on specific times prior to travel, the Wall Street Journal and the Economist recommend the “8-week rule” and I personally like to look 6-8 weeks before travel. Now, I also make it a habit to browse tickets months in advance to get a general range of where prices fall. I’ll keep a mental note of maximums and minimums. FareandCompare also gets it right every single time. The best time to purchase tickets is between 2pm-3pm on Tuesday and Wednesday. Companies will usually run their sales between Tuesday and Thursday. Don’t ever purchase a ticket on the weekend. It’ll just be more than you should be paying.

Also, if you’re searching for prices on a MAC, you’re getting the short end of the stick. I’ve tested this theory out multiple times. PC’s simply show better prices. Fair, mostly likely not, but that’s just the name of the internet-is-watching-and-knows-everything-I’m-doing-and-what-I-have-game.

Ciao.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 13, 2013 5:06 pm

    This post came right on time. I still haven’t decided if I wanted to fly or dry to Dallas this weekend, but if I do fly, at least I know what’s best and when to look.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

