Skip to content

Hair Talk: Brazilian Bohyme Review

June 30, 2013

This one is for all my ladies.

I’m here to share my experiences with the Brazilian Bohyme hair. I purchased this hair with the intent of protective styling (i.e. covering my hair for a long period of time). I will admit, I purchased the hair before I actually really learned about the many many ways one can procure kinky hair extensions, especially extensions that match my 4b/c hair.  Heck, I recently found out what a “vendor” was, and had to familiarize myself with the various types of vendors and hair types you can source on your own. I’m saying this as a preface to my review. If I’d known of all the different vendors and ways to get kinky weave that kinda matches my hair, I would not have purchased the Brazilian Bohyme weave. However, now that I have it and have been wearing it for over a year (1 year and 3 months to be exact) I found ways to make it work, make it last for this long, and I hope that my review can help someone that is currently struggling with it.

Onto the specs….

Vendor: Bohyme Hair

Hair Category: Platinum Collection

Texture & Pattern: Brazilian Wave

Purchased: 

- 2 packs of hair, 1 Package in 12″-14″, 1 package in 14″-16″ both in 1b

Purchased: From an authorized dealer in my area. I went to the Bohyme site and looked up dealers by my zip code.

My Hair: 4b/4c natural, bra strap length, natural for 4 years.

 

My overall experience:

2 Months Review: May 2012-July 2012

I decided to purchase this hair because I read many reviews here and on youtube about the hair and it’s ability to match my hair. I purchased the hair in March of 2012 and as soon as i got home I opened both packs and sealed the wefts with crafters glue. I allowed it to dry, then installed placed it back in the package. I installed it  on my head in May of 2012 as a weave with the horseshoe out to blend. I installed .5 of the 16″ in the back and all of the 14″ in the front. I twisted my leave out (4b/4c) and soon found it was rather hard to blend. The Brobraz seemed silky, very soft to the touch, but had to be detangled with water AND conditioner every other day. To keep it from matting I kept detangling and twisting. At this point, since I was detangling so often I felt the shedding to be too much. I kept the sew in in for about 6 weeks. About 2 weeks into the this time, I traveled to Uganda, and this is where I ran into trouble. I was in a place which had had a limited source of fresh water so detangling it every other day was NOT an option. I actually put in twists and just wore a scarf over my head because of the lack of water and red dust everywhere. I did have a spray bottle with me, and when I found water I would spray the twists for a little moisture. 6 weeks into the weave (and 4 weeks abroad) I took the sew-in down, stuffed it into my suitcase and placed Senegalese twists in my hair. The hair was tangled and matted because I didn’t detangled for over 4 weeks.

IMG_1779

P1010001

1

IMG_0752

me nile river

P1020058

Photo on 2012-06-02 at 19.51

Photo on 2012-06-06 at 10.40 #5

Photo on 2012-06-06 at 10.41 #5

Photo on 2012-06-06 at 18.14

Photo on 2012-06-06 at 18.11 #2

 

8-12 Months Review: January 2013-May 2013

Fast forward 6 months later….I’m back in the good ‘ol USA, and take out the weave from my suitcase. I deep condition, wash, carefully detangle, and have the weave sewn onto a wig. I do a twist out with tresseme conditioner, and love the fullness and it matches my hair a little better. Major improvement. Ladies, if you want to wear this hair and make it last,SEW IT ONTO A WIG AND REMOVE IT EVERY NIGHT! I began to wear the weave on a wig in January of 2013 up until today, and it is still going strong! I cannot stress how easier it has been now that it is on a wig. Sleeping on the hair encourages tangles. Shedding and tangling now fare much less, and to be perfectly honest I only condition wash and re-twist this hair every 3-4 weeks. I do not wear this hair in a wash and go state, I think that makes too much tangling. I condition wash, twist, and wear a twist out. The older and frizzier the twists out gets, the more it matches my hair. To secure it down, I sewed on an elastic band and that is it.

Pictures

IMG_1808

IMG_1906 copy

IMG_1924

IMG_1945

IMG_2135

P1040822

Photo on 2013-02-16 at 19.43 #3

12-14 Months Review: May 2013-present

I gave the wig a break for a month. Even though this hair was sewn onto a wig, there was still tangling and matting, and it is mostly in the nape area. The tangling back there wasn’t super annoying, I just had to spend more time detangling that section when I co-washed and I only really got shedding when I detangle the wig. During the one month break I saw the matting was so bad, and my sister told me to do an ammonia/bleach bath to prevent the constant matting and tangling. Well, that helped a ton, but the hair dye Bohyme used to color the wig from it’s natural color to 1b bleed something serious…and it returned to it’s natural color. I had to re-dye the wig black to match my color, and I’ll admit the dye might have weakened the weft sealer because the shedding has been much more pronounced now. I used Carol Natural Instincts dye in “Darkest Brown” and that got the hair black. I am currently still wearing the wig (it is now month 14) and I am going to wear it for another month. I’m now looking into get hair that is more afro-kinky than the soft, shiny of the Bohyme.

IMG_2468

IMG_2522

IMG_2583

IMG_2601

IMG_2823

IMG_2831

IMG_2885

P1050060

Photo on 2013-06-30 at 06.54

Conclusion: Things that helped me extend the life of the hair and prevent tangles:

1) Sew extensions onto a wig cap and wear it as a wig.

2) NEVER sleep in this hair. Sleeping in curly hair encourages tangles in the nape area. Better to minimize it at all costs. Making a wig means you can take it off every night. Become about that life.

3) Do not wear this hair in a wash and go state. I did a twist out 2x a month…and the twist out on this hair helped with blending.

4) Wash/condition wash the hair at a MAXIMUM of 2x a month. If the hair is on a wig and you take it off every night, you really won’t have to ‘re-do’ the style very often. I once went 3 months without restyling. *shrugs*

5) If you feel the hair is tangling and matting too much, consider doing an ammonia + bleach batch. See the video posted below. 

I honestly do not recommend that anyone buy this hair, because for the price (I paid $230 on the ground) you can get better hair that doesn’t tangle and mat up as frequently as this one does (online vendors or just save up for ONYC), especially better hair to match 4b/4c hair. I’m actually feeling the itch to purchase new hair, but will wait until these student loans are all paid. However, I do feel like I put in the work to make this hair last this long (and I’m not giving it up anytime soon!) so if you do have it in your closet, don’t throw it away! It takes a little time and attention, but you can revive it if it gets to be a tangled, matted mess. I’m so not a weave expert (well maybe I am now lol), but my sisters taught me quite a bit, BHM is hella resourceful, and YT comes through occasionally. If you have any questions, let me know! Hope this has been helpful :-)

Resources:

How to make a UPart Wig: http://youtu.be/3Qo8D5c5n2Y

Elastic Band Method: http://youtu.be/PsAAQDBKvyo

Ammonia/Bleach Bath (please be careful and NEVER add bleach and ammonia to the same bucket): http://youtu.be/6HlXlIBFnLE

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 30, 2013 9:49 am

    I love this look on your Chin!

  2. July 6, 2013 8:03 pm

    oh wow, really love the hair…i have to get that, it’s human right, how much is it?

    • August 15, 2013 10:16 am

      Yes, this is human hair. I paid $225 for it from a local salon. If you go to their homepage, you can search authorized dealers and find one that is close to you.

  3. Roslyn permalink
    September 12, 2013 7:34 pm

    This is one of the most helpful blogs I’ve come across thus far. I’m growing my relaxer out (6 months in). I want to go back, as I’ve become so discouraged with how dry and hard to manage my natural hair is. I’m in extensions right now and I’m having trouble blending my hair with the amount of virgin hair that is now present. I came across Bohyme in search of hair that might resemble my natural texture. In this research, I’m getting many mixed reviews about Bohyme. Yours is the first that told it like it T-I-is! Thank you. What brand of hair have you found works better for kinky, curly hair? You mentioned ONYC…never heard of it. Gonna search now.

  4. Bundy permalink
    October 28, 2013 9:56 am

    do you know any alternatives to this hair that might be cheaper? i really like the look of it but it’s so expensive!! 0_0

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

